You are here :

Simon Robinson selected as Rushcliffe's new leader

26 May 2017

Councillor Simon Robinson was selected as the new leader of Rushcliffe Borough Council at its Annual Council meeting tonight (Thursday 25 May). Former leader Cllr Neil Clarke announced that he was stepping down earlier this week. 

‌‌‌‌Cllr Robinson, who is ward member for Edwalton ward, was first elected as a councillor in 2011. He became a member of the Cabinet in 2014 as portfolio holder for Finance, Assets and Resources, and he was appointed as Deputy Leader in 2015.

Speaking as the new leader of Rushcliffe Borough Council, Cllr Robinson said:

“I’m honoured to have received the nomination from my fellow councillors and am excited by the opportunity to lead such a great authority. Residents’ interests are at the heart of what we do and therefore I’m committed to delivering the best services and results for our citizens.

“This is a challenging environment for local government and I’m aware of the need to balance enhancing the place so that business can thrive here whilst shaping a future for our younger and older generations.

I believe my passion and experience in business will help me to ensure that the council is efficient in the way it operates, reducing the burden on local tax payers.”

Councillor Robinson announced his new cabinet at the Council meeting, and they are: 

  • Councillor Gordon Moore, portfolio holder for Finance
  • Councillor Roger Upton, portfolio holder for Housing  and Planning
  • Councillor Andy Edyvean, portfolio holder for Economic Growth and Business

Councillor Debbie Mason, portfolio holder for Community and Leisure.

Rate this page

How do you rate this information / service?
This page is okay
This page needs improving